Awards Night

2017 Awards NIght

Big V has capped off another extraordinary season on court with its best and brightest crowned at the 2017 Big V Awards Night.

Our 12 champion sides and stars from all 146 of our teams across the league descended upon Eithad Stadium on Saturday night to celebrate season 2017 and see who would take out the last accolades of the season.

State Championship Men’s (SCM) Dillon Stith (McKinnon) – who was recently rewarded for his stellar season with selection in Melbourne United’s NBL Blitz pre-season roster – was named co-winner of the SCM MVP alongside Jeremy Smith (Werribee). Rounding out the All Star Five were Adam Thoseby (Knox)Desmond Simmons (Waverley) and Michael McCahey (Ringwood). Knox head coach Darryl McDonald was named Coach of the Year while his rising star Adrian Tomada earned the Youth Player of the Year award.

The rampaging Sunbury Jets continued their State Championship Women’s (SCW) domination with Courtney Duever winning MVP and selected in All Star Five alongside team mate Orla O’Reilly to go along with their back-to-back championship triumph. Kennedy Kereama was named SCW Coach of the Year for their stellar all-round season. In addition, with the Jets winning the Youth League Two Women’s crown, Sunbury was rewarded for their achievements winning Big V Club of the Year.

Bulleen rising star Kara Tessari capped off an incredible season with SCW All Star Five selection and Youth Player of the Year to go with her Bendigo Spirit WNBL re-signing and under-20 Australian national title.

Corey Standerfer (D1M Chelsea)Tanarly Hood (D1W Latrobe City), Calvin Henry (D2M Mildura) and Patrice Mckenzie (D2W Mornington) rounded out the senior MVPsCrowned the best of Big V’s junior talent, the Youth MVPs were Joel Rimes (VYCM Bulleen), Leah Santomaggio (VYCW Knox), Justin Soleimani (YL1M Keilor), Lyndsey Hoogenhout (YL1W Coburg), Dylan Thoonen (YL2M Western Port) and Chloe Angove (YL2W Sunbury). 

Joining McDonald and Kereama as Coach of the Year award winners in our senior competitions were Liam Glasscott (D1M Keilor)Tom Bandilovski (D1W Keilor)Gani Sakiri (D2M Collingwood) and Louise Brown (D2W Warrnambool). 

Winning the Coach of the Year accolades in our youth competitions were Mark Landells (VYCM Kilsyth)Randy Shanklin (VYCW Altona)Darren Hindle (YL1M Werribee)Cara Jeffers (YL1W Camberwell)Al Westover (YL2M Maccabi) and joint YL2W winners Brad Rooff (YL2W Casey) and Andrew Seidel (YL2W Sunbury).

The Chairman’s Award, given to the club with the most successful on-court product, was awarded to Keilor Thunder for its stellar season on the hardwood claiming two championship banners (D1M, YL1M) and a runners-up banner (D1W).

For his tireless work over many years, Simon Krug (Casey Cavaliers) was awarded the Lino Di Paola Award for Big V Volunteer of the Year.

“The Big V Awards Night is always a fantastic evening which everyone highlights on their calendar,” Big V CEO Julie Anderson explained.

“This year was no different, with the players, coaches, team managers, staff and volunteers from each association all inside the one venue to celebrate each other’s successes across the course of the 2017 Big V season.

“I want to take this moment to congratulate not only all of our award winners tonight, but to everyone who makes this competition happen, everyone has a part to play and it’s always great to be able to reflect and celebrate those achievements.”

Attached is a complete list of all our 2017 Big V Awards winners and for all the celebration pictures and videos from the Big V Awards Night, head to our website – or our Facebook page –